Understanding challenge rules
Learn more about challenges rules to optimize your experience and chive the best results.
Please see below some rules that apply to challenges:
The Users can join a challenge for some days after the challenge has started.
Wellics™ challenges include a join limit period, allowing participants to join a challenge. This period varies based on the challenge duration:
- For challenges that last more than 7 days, Users can join up to 3 days after it officially starts. Even if they join late, their data from the day the challenge started are included in the challenge.
- If the challenge lasts less than 7 days, Users can join until the first day of the challenge.
The teams are created by the Users for a specific challenge.
A team is exclusively linked to a particular challenge and is not visible outside of that challenge or in any other challenge.
The join limit period also applies to team formation procedure. This means that a User can create a team and team members have to join the team within the join limit period as described above.
However, we recomment to always create and join a team before a challenge starts.
Teams are required to have a maximum number of members.
Teams are required to have a maximum number of members in order to ensure fair competition and maintain balance among the participants. This maximum number is set to ensure that teams do not become too large, which could potentially give them an unfair advantage over smaller teams.
When publishing a team challenge, you as an Admin have the ability to set the maximum number of members for each team. We recommended to calculate this number in a way that ensures there are at least 10 teams within your organization.
The Users can join a team for some days after the challenge has started.
The join limit period also applies to team formation procedure. This means that a User can join a team within the join limit period as described above.
Joining a team is required for Users to participate in the team challenge. While this is prominently shown in the user experience you may still encounter users who join the challenge, but do not join a team. To monitor this, you can export the list of participants
Within the same challenge, a User is not allowed to participate in multiple teams.
The Users can leave a team anytime during the challenge.
The Users can leave the team they are a member of anytime during the challenge if they don't want to participate anymore. The data that they have contributed so far stay with the team, but if the team wins the challenge the Users that have left will not be eligible for the award.
A User cannot re-join the same team after leaving.
The creator of the team cannot leave the team.
The Users can change teams only for specific time while the challenge is running.
The join limit period also applies to team formation procedure. This means that a User can change a team within the join limit period as described above.
The data of the Users will be counted in the team to which they belonged at the time when the data was synced or logged.
A team can be deleted by the creator.
If the creator of a team decides to delete the team, all the data associated with the team will be removed from the challenge. The team will no longer participate in the challenge, but the individual team members will still be challenge participants. However, they will no longer be part of any team, so they will need to join a new one (given that the join limit period has not finished).
The Users can abort a challenge anytime while the challenge is running.
The Users can abort the challenge at any time if they decide that they no longer want to participate in a challenge.
For individual challenges: The data that the User has contributed so far are deleted from the challenge.
For team challenges: The data that the User has contributed so far stay with the team and are not deleted.
Challenges allow either automatic data tracking or manual data logging.
The available challenge templates provided by Wellics™ support three different types of data tracking depending on the type of data they relate to:
- Automatic Tracking: The challenge is about device data i.e. data that are tracked through a user's wearable device or smartphone. Challenges based on device data require little effort once a device is connected. It's also more difficult to cheat when syncing from a device, since data comes directly from a user's connected wearable device or app.
- Manual Logging: The challenge can involve tracking either a numeric metric that cannot be tracked by a device or a daily action (habit), which requires users to manually log their data. Due to the nature of these challenges, Wellics™ cannot verify the accuracy of self-reported data.
- Hybrid mode: The challenge is about device data but allows also participants that do not have a wearable device or smartphone to manually log their data. As an admin, you can select to change this mode to automatic or manual when publishing the challenge.
The Users can sync or log data for the past 7 days.
When a user participates in a challenge and has not synced or logged data for a while, they are free to add new data only for the past 7 days through the challenge pages.
In case they want to add data for more than 7 days ago they can do it through Your Journey page, however they will not be considered in the challenge.
Users who aren't syncing or logging and who subsequently have 0's will affect their team's score.
For team challenges with score calculation mode either average or self performance, users who aren't syncing or loggin and who subsequently have 0's will affect their team's score. This can bring team morale down. If notifications are on, users who have not synced pr logged data in the past 7 days will get a notification reminding them to come into the app to sync or log.
As adding data is important to the overall success of the challenge we highly suggest to remind participants to sync or log their data to Wellics™. You may also view the list of challenge participants (or export it in xls) and see if there is no team for any participants.
It will be beneficial to implement a rule for how you'll handle users who never sync or log. Include this in your initial communications and reminders to help users remember to sync or log.
The challenge leaderboard is updated up to 3 days after the challenge officially ends.
Wellics™ challenges include a grace period of 72 hours, allowing participants an additional 3 days after the challenge officially ends to sync or log any remaining data before scores are finalized.
Users will receive notifications in their Notification Center regarding the grace period rules for challenges that have ended. These notifications will inform them of the number of days remaining until the challenge officially closes.
The grace period is designed to give participants who may have forgotten to sync or log their data on the final day of the challenge a chance to do so within the 72-hour window.
Once this grace period expires, all challenge statistics become final and can no longer be updated.
All challenges start at 12:00 AM and end at 11:59 PM UTC.
This might look like for some participants there will not be equal time for participation compared to others, but this is not true. For all participants, the data received from midnight on the start date of the challenge to 11:59:59pm on the end date of the challenge according to their time zone will be scored into the challenge. This means that all users will have the same amount of time within the challenge period (including the grace period) to get their activity in.